Miss Rule Clarification – Playing Swerve Shots

The subject of the Miss Rule comes up every season…one recent confusion in a league match concerned the use of the swerve shot when attempting to escape from a snooker.

Accordingly, the Committee wish to clarify to all league players and referees that when playing a swerve shot that doesn’t result in contact with the ball on, that a Miss should ALWAYS be called irrespective of the final margin of error.

A swerve shot is defined by striking down on the cue ball with the butt of the cue raised higher than the cue tip with either left or right hand side applied.

Should you require any further clarification on the above, our resident expert Dan Lewis is happy to take you call.