Super Spike Wins The 2016 Memorial Cup!

The DMC Leisure Saffron Walden and District Snooker League Annual Memorial Cup event was hosted at Saffron Snooker Club on Sunday 27 November 2016.  The tournament remembers all players that have contributed to the league over its history, whom are sadly no longer with us.

The tournament comprised of a field of 20 league players split into two groups of 10.  Single frame round robin handicapped format with a 30 minute time limit per frame.  The two highest placed finishers from each group progressed to the knock out semi finals.

The group stages played out with many expected close frames however some players failed to produce their normal form.  Subsequently a high tally of frames was required to progress to the semi finals.  Three players from Group A (Andy Marshall, Aaron Gibson and Richard Malyon) and two players from Group B (Spike Braybrooke and Rob Spackman) all played well and won 7 from 9 frames.  Unfortunately on count back Richard Malyon having lost to both Andy and Aaron did not progress to the Semi finals.  Head to head results also decided the group winners and runners up positions.

Group A – Winner: Andy Marshall, Runner Up: Aaron Gibson

Group B – Winner: Spike Braybrooke, Runner Up: Rob Spackman

SF1: Andy Marshall 1-0 Rob Spackman

SF2: Spike Braybrooke 1-0 Aaron Gibson

After well composed performances the two progressing players Andy Marshall and Spike Braybrooke would now contest a best of three match in a repeat of the 2015 final.

Final: Andy Marshall 1-2 Spike Braybrooke

Defending champion Andy Marshall struck first winning frame one. Spike Braybrooke however continuing to play valiantly levelled the match.  The all important final frame saw a few nervy shots from both players; however Andy Marshall failed to make the most of his chances, enabling Braybooke to establish a commanding point’s lead to claim the 2016 Memorial Cup.


The tournament high break was well contested between Adam Ingram and an on form Rob Spackman.  Adam’s highest a well worked 71 was bettered by a fantastic 88 from Rob Spackman.


The DMC Leisure Saffron Walden and District Snooker League committee would like to thank Saffron Snooker Club for once again providing the venue for the event, and the league players for once again contributing to an excellent days snooker enjoyed by all.  Also thanks to our League President Dan Lewis for directing the event with assistance from present committee members.

2016 Memorial Cup Winner – Spike Braybrooke

Runner-Up – Andy Marshall

High break – Rob Spackman (88)

Tournament Report by Phil Chapman