NOTICE : Annual General Meeting – Tuesday 5 July 2016

The Committee of the DMC Leisure Saffron Walden & District Snooker League hereby give notice that the Annual General Meeting will be held at the Bishop’s Stortford Royal British Legion on Tuesday 5 July 2016 at 7.45pm.  All registered league members are invited to attend, and all teams that intend to compete next season should send along at least one representative.  It is a compulsory requirement that a representative of any NEW teams and clubs attend so their application to join the league can be approved by the membership.

Should any member wish to submit an item for the Agenda or propose either an amendment to an existing league rule or propose a new league rule, these must be received by the League Secretary Simon Chapman no later than 28 days prior to the AGM which is Tuesday 7 June 2016.

Please send any items/proposals via email to or via the Online Form on the league website, and we will confirm receipt.

Should you wish to discuss any matters prior to them being submitted then please do not hesitate to contact either the League Secretary or any member of the Committee.


Updated: 2015/16 League Season – Finals / Trophy Presentation Evening With Joe Perry – Saturday 28 May 2016

Updated: 26 May 2016

The Committee are delighted to announce that World Snooker Professional Joe ‘The Gentleman’ Perry will be presenting the trophies at this year’s Finals / Presentation Evening at Saffron Snooker Club on Saturday 28 May 2016.

Joe has also kindly agreed to play four exhibition frames which will take place after the conclusion of the Scratch Final – these will be against the winners of three of the finals being held on the day, the Scratch Plus, the Handicap Singles and the Scratch Singles.  The player of the fourth frame will be chosen by Saffron Snooker Club.

Currently ranked number 11 in the world, Joe is a local player based in Cambridge and is the 2015 Players Champion.

Generated by IJG JPEG Library







A buffet will be available for those attending Finals/Trophy Presentation Evening from around 8pm, and the trophy presentations will take place following the conclusion of the finals (for those just coming to collect a trophy, this will not be before 8.30pm).

The running order is as follows;

3pm: The John Webb Plate (best of 5 frames) – Leon Mosjeko 3-0 Stephen Burford
[Referee: Mick Speed]

3pm: Handicap Singles Final (best of 5 frames) – Spencer Hewitt 3-2 Mark Patmore
[Referee: Dan Lewis]

6pm: Scratch Plus Final (best of 5 frames) – Richard Kidman 2-3 Nick Selvey
[Referee: Mick Speed]

6pm: Scratch Singles Final (best of 7 frames) – Jason Pegram 4-0 Russell Huxter
[Referee: Dan Lewis]

Following the conclusion of the Scratch Singles Final: Exhibition Frames with Joe Perry

Not before 8.30pm: Trophy Presentations with Joe Perry

We hope that you will come along and join us for what will be a memorable evening and fitting finale to the 2015/16 league season.  The Committee would like to thank Steve Bothwell of Bullet Brickwork (UK) Ltd for sponsoring the evening and helping to secure the services of Joe.

Saffron Walden Retain Bishop’s Stortford Challenge Title

The annual Bishop’s Stortford Challenge took place at the Old Harlow War Memorial Institute Club on Sunday 10 April 2016.  The event contested between the Bishop’s Stortford & District Snooker League and the DMC Leisure Saffron Walden and District Snooker league, each represented by six league players.  Each teams comprised of three players handicapped between -10 and -1 and three players between scratch and +10.

After last year’s one sided event, this year’s was competitive throughout.  After the first two rounds of play, little separated the sides with only a few frames between the teams.  Going into the final crucial round of matches, Saffron Walden held a four frame advantage (20-16).  The minus handicapped players would now play a plus player on the opposing team, everything was up for grabs.  After a great day of snooker enjoyed by all, the improving Saffron Walden team played a solid final round winning 8 of the 12 frames to win the tournament by 28 frames to 20.

2016 BS Challenge Winners – Saffron Walden Left to right: Simon Chapman, Phil Chapman, Aaron Gibson, Bob Burling, John Manley and David Tedman.

Saffron Walden team & frames won:
Bob Burling                 4/8
John Manley                5/8
Aaron Gibson              4/8
David Tedman             5/8
Simon Chapman         5/8
Phil Chapman (Capt)  5/8

The Committee of the SWDSL would like to thank the Old Harlow War Memorial Institute Club for once again providing the venue for this event, the players who represented the Saffron Walden league, and finally the Bishop’s Stortford & District Snooker League who played their part in a good competitive match and for running the event as the home team this year.