Updated: 2015/16 League Season – Finals / Trophy Presentation Evening With Joe Perry – Saturday 28 May 2016

Updated: 26 May 2016

The Committee are delighted to announce that World Snooker Professional Joe ‘The Gentleman’ Perry will be presenting the trophies at this year’s Finals / Presentation Evening at Saffron Snooker Club on Saturday 28 May 2016.

Joe has also kindly agreed to play four exhibition frames which will take place after the conclusion of the Scratch Final – these will be against the winners of three of the finals being held on the day, the Scratch Plus, the Handicap Singles and the Scratch Singles.  The player of the fourth frame will be chosen by Saffron Snooker Club.

Currently ranked number 11 in the world, Joe is a local player based in Cambridge and is the 2015 Players Champion.

Generated by IJG JPEG Library







A buffet will be available for those attending Finals/Trophy Presentation Evening from around 8pm, and the trophy presentations will take place following the conclusion of the finals (for those just coming to collect a trophy, this will not be before 8.30pm).

The running order is as follows;

3pm: The John Webb Plate (best of 5 frames) – Leon Mosjeko 3-0 Stephen Burford
[Referee: Mick Speed]

3pm: Handicap Singles Final (best of 5 frames) – Spencer Hewitt 3-2 Mark Patmore
[Referee: Dan Lewis]

6pm: Scratch Plus Final (best of 5 frames) – Richard Kidman 2-3 Nick Selvey
[Referee: Mick Speed]

6pm: Scratch Singles Final (best of 7 frames) – Jason Pegram 4-0 Russell Huxter
[Referee: Dan Lewis]

Following the conclusion of the Scratch Singles Final: Exhibition Frames with Joe Perry

Not before 8.30pm: Trophy Presentations with Joe Perry

We hope that you will come along and join us for what will be a memorable evening and fitting finale to the 2015/16 league season.  The Committee would like to thank Steve Bothwell of Bullet Brickwork (UK) Ltd for sponsoring the evening and helping to secure the services of Joe.

‘Perfect Peter’ Wins The 2016 President’s Cup And Ingram Wins The Plate!

The Annual President’s Cup, sponsored by Bullet Brickwork UK Ltd was held on Sunday 31 January 2016 at Saffron Snooker Club, Saffron Walden, Essex.  The handicap singles best-of-3-frames event was supported with a strong field of 27 league players in attendance, all hoping to win the first prize of £80 and be the next name engraved on the prestigious President’s Cup.

Peter Saville and Mark Halls shake hands before the 2016 President’s Cup final

Semi Final Results;
Peter Saville 2-0 Richard Malyon
Mark Halls 2-0 Steve Stalley

Being virtually a scratch final, Mark received a 1 point headstart and in the first frame produced possibly his best frame of the day potting everything in sight and rapidly took the first frame by over 50 points.  Peter responded with a consistent display of potting in the second to draw the match level at 1-1.  With the title coming down to a deciding frame, Peter produced the type of snooker needed to take the match to Mark and in the end was too strong and secured a 2-1 win to take the President’s Cup title and collect the £80 first prize.  Mark received the consolation of the £40 Runners Up prize which he has donated to charity.  Both of the losing semi finalists, Steve Stalley and Richard Malyon each received £20.

Saffron Snooker Club’s Sarah Todd presents the President’s Cup to Peter Saville

Those players who got knocked out in their first playing round got a free entry in the Plate Tournament with one frame being played in each round including the final.  16 players entered and it was Adam Ingram and Bob Fox who got through to the final.  Adam won the one-frame-winner-takes-all-final with a break of 46 to add the President’s Cup Plate title to his many singles titles, along with the £20 first prize.

Adam Ingram’s break of 76 in the first round secured him the £20 Tournament High Break prize.  See below for all the recorded breaks over 25.

For those that didn’t manage success on the snooker tables, a chance to go home with a raffle prize still offered some consolation, and just before the semi finals the draw took place.

Some photos of the event are on the SWDSL Facebook Page, and all trophies will be presented at the Annual Presentation/Finals Evening at Saffron Snooker Club.

Apologies were received from our SWDSL President Dan Lewis and tournament sponsor Steve Bothwell who were both unfortunately unable to attend due to illness.  We all wish them both a speedy recovery.

The Committee of the DMC Leisure Saffron Walden and District Snooker League would like to thank Bullet Brickwork UK Ltd for their 10 years of sponsorship of our flagship tournament, Saffron Snooker Club for providing the venue, Mark Cooper for preparing the tables and Simon Chapman and Phil Chapman for refereeing the two finals.  Thanks also to our Tournament Secretary Adam Ingram, Assistant Tournament Secretary Stuart Turner, Treasurer Peter Saville for ensuring that the tournament ran smoothly on the day.

Recorded breaks over 25 :

  • Adam Ingram 76, 54, 46, 43
  • Richard Breen 62
  • Stuart Turner 48

Link to sponsors website : www.bullet-brickwork.co.uk

2016 President’s Cup Tournament – Sunday 31 January 2016

The 2016 President’s Cup, sponsored by Bullet Brickwork (UK) Ltd will be held on Sunday 31 January 2016 at Saffron Snooker Club.  Registration is from 10.00am with the draw taking place at 10.30am sharp.  The entry fee as previous seasons is £10 (Juniors aged 14-18 years old are £5) which includes your table light all day, and also includes a free entry into the Plate Tournament for the First Round losers.  All rounds of the main tournament are best of three frames, with the Plate being one frame throughout including the final.  All matches are played off of second half handicaps.

In accordance with League Rule 27, in order for a player to be eligible to enter and play in the President’s Cup Tournament, they must have played in a minimum of either 3 league or cup matches in the first half of the season.

Prize money and trophies will be on offer and a raffle will also be held on the day.  If any members or clubs would like to donate a prize for the raffle then please feel free to bring along or hand to any member of the Committee prior to the day, all will be very much appreciated.

Please text Adam Ingram on 07901-723360 prior to the day to reserve your place, please pay on the day.

The Prize Fund will be split as follows;
Winner £80
Runner Up £40
Losing Semi-Finalists £20
Losing Quarter Finalists £10
High Break £20
Plate Winner £20
Plate Runner Up £10

This year we have increased the Prize Fund as our sponsor Bullet Brickwork (UK) Ltd is celebrating 10 years of sponsoring the tournament and has given us an additional boost for the prize fund to celebrate!  Many thanks to Steve Bothwell.

A poster is available to print here or from the league website.  It would be appreciated if all clubs and team captains could encourage as many of their players to enter and help make this year another successful tournament.