Temporary Suspension of SWDSL Activities

The Committee of the SWDSL have given the matter due consideration and decided that it is in the best interests of all members to suspend all league/tournament activities with immediate effect for a period of at least 3 weeks with the current CV situation starting to affect our day-to-day lives.

We appreciate that over the next few weeks some league members and their families may have to self-isolate and playing snooker will not be high on their list of priorities.

We will give at least 7 days notice for the restart and the fixtures and tournament dates will be updated.  If you have already arranged to play in a tournament quarter final and wish to continue with your match then that will be your choice/risk to do so.

This has not been an easy decision for us to take and appreciate that not all of you will be in agreement with this decision but the well-being of our members must come first and the disruption to the league fixtures/tournaments will be dealt with down the line as and when the whole picture becomes clearer to us all. 

More updates to follow as and when appropriate.

Many thanks,
Peter Saville
For and on behalf of the SWDSL Committee

REMINDER: League Cup – Quarter Finals Round [to be played w/c 13 April 2020]

The League Cup Drawsheet for the Quarter Finals Round is online and all matches are to be played during w/c 13 April 2020.  All matches are to be played on the home team’s usual home league night and must be played during the scheduled league cup week or the team cancelling will forfeit the match.

Monday 13 April 2020 is Easter Monday and therefore a bank holiday.  As a couple of matches fall on this date the Committee wishes to clarify that if both Captains agree to rearrange their match, this can be played during any other evening during cup week or any evening prior to cup week.

To view the drawsheet click here.

Quarter Finals Round – All Tournaments

The drawsheets for the Quarter Finals Round of the Handicap Singles, Handicap Doubles, Scratch Singles, Scratch Plus Singles and John Webb Plate are now updated on the league website.  Please note that all matches are to be arranged by 14 March 2020 and played by 28 March 2020.

Please could the winner of each match report the result directly to the Tournament Secretary Stuart Turner or post on the SWDSL WhatsApp Group within 24 hours to enable the tournament drawsheets to be updated for the next round.

Should you encounter any issues in trying to contact your opponent then please contact Stuart Turner on 07879-463089.

JP’s Austin Wilkinson Wins The 2020 President’s Cup

The Annual President’s Cup, sponsored by Refurb & Development Ltd was held on Sunday 2 February 2020 at JPs Snooker & Pool Club, Harlow, Essex.

The handicap singles best-of-3-frames event was well supported with a field of 28 league players in attendance, all hoping to be the next name engraved on the prestigious President’s Cup.

Battling through the field of players, it was JP’s own Austin Wilkinson and Whittlesford’s Sam Duce that prevailed through to the final.  Sam was on form and hot favourite going into the final having made the highest break of the day with 60 in one of the earlier rounds, and he carried this confidence into the final and made an early start racing to an easy 1 nil lead.  Austin’s tenacity however allowed him to fight back in frame 2 and clear the last five colours to make it 1-1.  The deciding final frame in the best-of-three final was a scrappy affair with neither player able to dominate.  Sam took the lead and going into the colours, Austin needed them all to win.  After some nervy safety play it was Austin that prevailed and managed to skilfully pot the last remaining balls to get over the line and to win the 2020 President’s Cup, his first tournament win in the DMC Leisure Saffron Walden & District Snooker League.  Austin is certainly an up and coming player and looks set to be collecting more silverware in the future.

Austin Wilkinson 2-1 Sam Duce

Tournament High Break: Sam Duce [Whittlesford] 60

2020 President’s Cup finalists Austin Wilkinson & Sam Duce

Austin mentioned after the final that he had to thank Jason Pegram for the use of his cue which he’s been using recently to great effect, apparently this is the cue that Jason used when he was a professional and its made over 20 maximums breaks, can Austin add to that tally going forward or will Jason now want it back!

Austin received the £80 Winners Prize together with a pair of Afternoon / Evening session tickets to the 2021 Masters Snooker Tournament, Sam received the consolation of the £40 Runners Up prize.  Both of the losing semi finalists, Stewart Hart & Leon Mozejko each received £10.

2020 President’s Cup Winner Austin Wilkinson giving us an idea of the size of trophy he might like to receive on Finals Night in May!

Some photos of the event are on the SWDSL Instagram account, and all trophies will be presented at the Annual Presentation/Finals Evening at JPs Snooker & Pool Club at the end of the Season.

The Committee of the DMC Leisure Saffron Walden and District Snooker League would like to thank Refurb & Development Ltd for their continued sponsorship of our flagship tournament, Jason Pegram & JP’s Snooker & Pool Club for providing the venue, Alex & Jack for the expert preparation of the tables, and Tournament Director Stuart Turner ably assisted by Stewart Hart in ensuring that the tournament ran smoothly.

2020 President’s Cup Drawsheet & Match Start Times

Click here to view the 2020 President’s Cup Drawsheet

PLAYER                                    HANDICAP                   MATCH START TIME


Aaron Gibson                                -12                       9.30 AM

Phil Chapman                                +11                       9.30 AM

Stewart Hart                                +23                        9.30 AM

Andrew Green                                -19                       11.00 AM

Richard Breen                               -17                       12.00 PM

Leon Mozejko                                +10                       12.00 PM

Chris Coney                                 +4                       11.00 AM

Stuart Turner                              -45                       10.15 AM

Rob Jones                                   +4                       10.15 AM

Michael Earley                             +24                        9.30 AM

Peter Barker                                -6                        9.30 AM

Simon Giblin                               -17                        9.30 AM

Jamie Sanderson                            -41                       11.00 AM

Tony Filocco                               SCR                       11.00 AM

Peter Saville                               +4                       12.00 PM

Sam Duce                                   -20                       11.00 AM

Bill Clenshaw                               -4                        9.30 AM

Keith Youell                               -22                       12.00 PM

Steve Toelkemeier                          -8                        9.30 AM

Simon Chapman                              -1                       10.15 AM

Colin Pegram                               +21                       10.15 AM

Alex Clenshaw                              -70                       11.00 AM

Jack Hayley                                -57                       10.15 AM

Ian Waite                                   +5                       10.15 AM

Carl Cooper                                +10                       11.00 AM

Spencer Hewitt                             -17                       10.15 AM

Andy Collins                                -5                       11.00 AM

Austin Wilkinson                           -23                       10.15 AM